User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: inlet air temp sensor

  1. #1
    Pit Crew Decade Plus User

    My 1st Project
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Brum Town
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,865
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts

    inlet air temp sensor

    where would i mount this with throttle bodies?
    http://itsalmosttime.co.uk/blog/

  2. #2
    World Champion Decade Plus User RChambers's Avatar

    My 1st Project
    My 2nd Project
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Aldershot
    Age
    36
    Posts
    6,190
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts

    Re: inlet air temp sensor

    In the air box or as close to the trumpets as possible if not using an airbox.

    She's built like a Steakhouse, but handles like a Bistro

  3. #3
    TURBOSPORT SPONSOR Turbosport Subscriber
    Turbosport Moderator
    Turbosport Administrator
    Graham's Avatar
    My Race Car
    My 1st Project
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Ely, Cambs
    Age
    51
    Posts
    23,081
    Thanks
    225
    Thanked 1,819 Times in 1,703 Posts

    Re: inlet air temp sensor

    on atmo engines they are not really nec, the air temp correction factor is quite small, i ran for years without one until i went turbo.

  4. #4
    I support TS Decade Plus User
    Turbosport Subscriber
    alladdin's Avatar

    My 1st Project
    My 2nd Project
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    s.wales
    Age
    55
    Posts
    9,344
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 366 Times in 361 Posts

    Re: inlet air temp sensor

    as graham says, commonly mounted in the filter backplate between strumpets

  5. #5
    TURBOSPORT SPONSOR Turbosport Subscriber
    Turbosport Moderator
    Turbosport Administrator
    Graham's Avatar
    My Race Car
    My 1st Project
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Ely, Cambs
    Age
    51
    Posts
    23,081
    Thanks
    225
    Thanked 1,819 Times in 1,703 Posts

    Re: inlet air temp sensor

    Quote Originally Posted by alladdin View Post
    as graham says, commonly mounted in the filter backplate between strumpets
    i didnt actually richard did but its right! in the airbox or back plate is fine they dont need to be mounted directly in the air stream

  6. #6
    I support TS Decade Plus User
    Turbosport Subscriber
    alladdin's Avatar

    My 1st Project
    My 2nd Project
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    s.wales
    Age
    55
    Posts
    9,344
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 366 Times in 361 Posts

    Re: inlet air temp sensor

    my confuddle !!!! what i meant was ... as graham says- you dont really need it but its commonly ... blah blah....
    all makes sense one day

  7. #7
    TURBOSPORT SPONSOR Turbosport Subscriber
    Turbosport Moderator
    Turbosport Administrator
    Graham's Avatar
    My Race Car
    My 1st Project
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Ely, Cambs
    Age
    51
    Posts
    23,081
    Thanks
    225
    Thanked 1,819 Times in 1,703 Posts

    Re: inlet air temp sensor

    lets just say i've just converted a car to run on an emerald ecu, and havnt fitted an air temp sensor.

  8. #8
    Bodger

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Lincolnshire
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: inlet air temp sensor

    Come on Graham tell us more about the car and the work you've done.....I know the owner is looking forward to getting her back

  9. #9
    TURBOSPORT SPONSOR Turbosport Subscriber
    Turbosport Moderator
    Turbosport Administrator
    Graham's Avatar
    My Race Car
    My 1st Project
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Ely, Cambs
    Age
    51
    Posts
    23,081
    Thanks
    225
    Thanked 1,819 Times in 1,703 Posts

    Re: inlet air temp sensor

    it runs!

    and even idles (sort of) which is more than it ever did on the bosch L jet

    wot more do ya want??????
    Last edited by Graham; 23-04-2007 at 19:59.

  10. #10
    Pit Crew

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Cumbria
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,094
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 25 Times in 22 Posts

    Re: inlet air temp sensor

    So where can it be mounted with bare trumpets??

  11. #11
    World Champion Decade Plus User RChambers's Avatar

    My 1st Project
    My 2nd Project
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Aldershot
    Age
    36
    Posts
    6,190
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts

    Re: inlet air temp sensor

    Just mount it off the inner wing so that its near the trumpets. The air you suck in comes from the engine bay so you only need to measure that temp.

    She's built like a Steakhouse, but handles like a Bistro

  12. #12
    Pit Crew

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Cumbria
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,094
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 25 Times in 22 Posts

    Re: inlet air temp sensor

    Thats OK then i have it zip tied to where the throttle cable comes through the bulkhead as my Air Filters didnt fit

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. coolant temp sensor
    By mk.1 xr2 tulbo! in forum RS Turbo's
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-10-2006, 18:26
  2. ecu temp sensor
    By luz008 in forum Zetec Installations
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 18-08-2006, 23:35
  3. Help my mk1 xr2 temp says its to hot??????
    By cossiemark in forum The Technical Section
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-06-2006, 15:05
  4. Intake air temp sensor
    By car_fan900 in forum Wants
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-05-2006, 20:51
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15-07-2003, 11:06

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts