User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: Mondeo V6 - how do I RWD it

  1. #1
    Mechanic

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Preston - Up North
    Posts
    558
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Mondeo V6 - how do I RWD it

    has anyone ever done a RWD conversion on the Mondeo V6 - got the chance of a V6 1998/S reg Mondeo at very reasonable money, car is an Auto...........but how big a job will it be to convert it to RWD ?

  2. #2
    Pit Crew Decade Plus User bortaf's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    london
    Age
    52
    Posts
    1,107
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: Mondeo V6 - how do I RWD it

    I'd love to know a cheap wa yto do it as i've scrapped loads of V6 mondys over the past few years doesn't it have a mazda B/H pattern same as mazda MX5?

  3. #3
    Pit Crew Decade Plus User Zetec_Escorts's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Reading
    Age
    44
    Posts
    1,517
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

    Re: Mondeo V6 - how do I RWD it

    You sell it and by a Sierra or even better a Capri.
    Zetec Mk 1 Escort
    Mk 2 X Pack Capri 3.0S (not a copy, the real thing)
    Mk 1 XR4i
    Mk 3a Fiesta Si

    www.zetecescorts.bravehost.com

  4. #4
    I support TS Decade Plus User
    Turbosport Subscriber
    Scott_B's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    ESSEX
    Age
    47
    Posts
    2,896
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Mondeo V6 - how do I RWD it

    What is it your wanting to do convert the mondeo to RWD or fit the V6 into something else RWD?

  5. #5
    Bodger cortina_gt's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Folsom, California
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Mondeo V6 - how do I RWD it

    The Mondeo/Contour engines were called duratecs here. This listing does not show any RWD applications for this engine. It is down at the bottom of the page. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of...using_patterns

  6. #6
    Bodger

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Preston - Up North
    Posts
    76
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mondeo V6 - how do I RWD it

    that's a darn shame - mi Mk1 Cortina Estate would roar along a treat with a 2.5 V6 Mondeo engine in her too

    Me thinks I need to get a fooked V6 & try some RWD bellhousings & then take it from there

  7. #7
    World Champion Decade Plus User popuptoaster's Avatar

    My 1st Project
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Brentwood, Essex
    Posts
    9,508
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts

    Re: Mondeo V6 - how do I RWD it

    just use a 24v granny cossie motor if you want a V6 ford engine, they have several boxes that'll fit em already and they are plenty strong.

  8. #8
    World Champion Decade Plus User RChambers's Avatar

    My 1st Project
    My 2nd Project
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Aldershot
    Age
    39
    Posts
    6,190
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

    Re: Mondeo V6 - how do I RWD it

    MX5 and possibly RX7 gearboxes should fit. Also you should be able to get a gearbox off of a Jag as some use a 3 litre version of the Ford/Mazda V6

    She's built like a Steakhouse, but handles like a Bistro

  9. #9
    TURBOSPORT SPONSOR Turbosport Subscriber
    Turbosport Moderator
    Turbosport Administrator
    Graham's Avatar
    My Race Car
    My 1st Project
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Ely, Cambs
    Age
    55
    Posts
    25,175
    Thanks
    297
    Thanked 2,287 Times in 2,096 Posts

    Re: Mondeo V6 - how do I RWD it

    Quote Originally Posted by SS069 View Post
    has anyone ever done a RWD conversion on the Mondeo V6 - got the chance of a V6 1998/S reg Mondeo at very reasonable money, car is an Auto...........but how big a job will it be to convert it to RWD ?
    in short its a massive job, which will involve totally reengineering almost everything about the car it will cost to do, and i'm sorry to say but if you have to ask how its done your never ever going to be able to do it yourself.

    it really is a non starter as a project im afraid

  10. #10
    Bodger

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Preston - Up North
    Posts
    76
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mondeo V6 - how do I RWD it

    Quote Originally Posted by graham bahr View Post
    in short its a massive job, which will involve totally reengineering almost everything about the car it will cost to do, and i'm sorry to say but if you have to ask how its done your never ever going to be able to do it yourself.

    it really is a non starter as a project im afraid

    I was simply asking the question & just hoping that someone might have a simple solution.....after all there's plenty out there & normally not abad lump if there are no issues......never mind, there's no harm in asking

  11. #11
    Part of the furniture Decade Plus User Tone's Avatar

    My 1st Project
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    sarf essex
    Posts
    11,313
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts

    Re: Mondeo V6 - how do I RWD it

    they use rwd duratec in the jags DOH !!! 3.0 2.5
    i've got one in the back of a mk4 fiesta just drops in lol.... not

  12. #12
    Spanner Monkey

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    nottinghamshire
    Age
    47
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Mondeo V6 - how do I RWD it

    Correct me if I'm wrong but didnt Andy Rouse race mondeos in the BTCC, using the 4x4 cars but taking off the front drive components!

    sven

  13. #13
    TURBOSPORT SPONSOR Turbosport Subscriber
    Turbosport Moderator
    Turbosport Administrator
    Graham's Avatar
    My Race Car
    My 1st Project
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Ely, Cambs
    Age
    55
    Posts
    25,175
    Thanks
    297
    Thanked 2,287 Times in 2,096 Posts

    Re: Mondeo V6 - how do I RWD it

    yes but i dont think it was very succesful, i think the extra drive train power losses caused by having twice turn the engines output through 90 fegrees outweighed the benifit of RWD

  14. #14
    Bodger

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    lancashire
    Age
    43
    Posts
    80
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mondeo V6 - how do I RWD it

    See the reyland website for a 4x4 cossie mondeo. Built by djm,so no,it's not a total non starter.
    Suffering from "escortosis"

  15. #15
    Tyre Kicker

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Saffron Walden Essex
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mondeo V6 - how do I RWD it

    M8 of mines working on connecting up the mondy to MT75





    and I know of a Jag duratec thats runing in a XR4Ti

    Last edited by Taps; 13-06-2008 at 23:21.

  16. #16
    Racer Decade Plus User 900ss's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    In me Wyndymill
    Age
    53
    Posts
    3,336
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

    Re: Mondeo V6 - how do I RWD it

    Quote Originally Posted by SS069 View Post
    has anyone ever done a RWD conversion on the Mondeo V6
    Sure they have but imo they are gutless engines
    I drive one daily n know my vectra 2.0 has much more punch.
    A well honed pinto or cossie would be a better bet !
    Cheers Wyn ...

    Stuck in the 80's
    Back in Black

  17. #17
    Bodger Pete-MK1's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warrington
    Age
    52
    Posts
    130
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mondeo V6 - how do I RWD it

    Quote Originally Posted by Taps View Post
    M8 of mines working on connecting up the mondy to MT75
    Would be interested to know how that is going

  18. #18
    Bodger Pete-MK1's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warrington
    Age
    52
    Posts
    130
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mondeo V6 - how do I RWD it

    I have just heard from a guy in America who makes bell housings for the 4 pot Duratec to Type 9 and T5, he does plan on making one for the V6 later in the year

  19. #19
    Bodger cortina_gt's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Folsom, California
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Mondeo V6 - how do I RWD it

    Is it this company? http://www.quad4rods.com/

  20. #20
    What curb ;-) Decade Plus User FF_Mark's Avatar

    My 1st Project
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Age
    53
    Posts
    18,534
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 28 Times in 21 Posts

    Re: Mondeo V6 - how do I RWD it

    they made a 4x4 mondeo, but don't know if the floorpan was different
    BMW E93 330d & VW Caddy SDi

  21. #21
    Bodger Pete-MK1's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warrington
    Age
    52
    Posts
    130
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mondeo V6 - how do I RWD it

    Quote Originally Posted by cortina_gt View Post
    Is it this company? http://www.quad4rods.com/
    Yes it is

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. rwd xe
    By thepintoman in forum Wants
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-01-2008, 20:00
  2. rwd xe
    By thepintoman in forum XE Installations
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-01-2008, 20:00
  3. 2.3 i4 rwd engine
    By Dharvey82 in forum Wants
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-08-2007, 19:35
  4. Mk 5 for RWD
    By DamEscort in forum Ebay section
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25-10-2006, 15:33

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts