User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 25 of 25 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25
Results 961 to 977 of 977

Thread: rx8 gearbox?

  1. #961
    Pole Position Decade Plus User M11rf's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand, Thailand
    Age
    40
    Posts
    5,458
    Thanks
    458
    Thanked 128 Times in 122 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    So, anyone using an RX7 box?

  2. #962
    Pole Position freddy686868's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    South Wales
    Age
    29
    Posts
    4,823
    Thanks
    221
    Thanked 246 Times in 228 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Quote Originally Posted by therealpinto View Post
    Do you know what kind of torque you have?

    I'm a bit curious on trying an RX8 gearbox to replace my T5. But I have 280 whp and over 400 Nm from the Pinto turbo and gut feeling says the RX8 gearbox would be marginal.

    Gustaf
    what about using the rx7 box? they have the same bellhousing pattern.

  3. #963
    Pit Crew Decade Plus User

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,087
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 80 Times in 78 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Quote Originally Posted by freddy686868 View Post
    what about using the rx7 box? they have the same bellhousing pattern.
    OK, but are they as "easy" to find? Haven't checked but in Sweden Rx7s are thin on the ground.

    Gustaf

  4. #964
    Pole Position freddy686868's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    South Wales
    Age
    29
    Posts
    4,823
    Thanks
    221
    Thanked 246 Times in 228 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Quote Originally Posted by therealpinto View Post
    OK, but are they as "easy" to find? Haven't checked but in Sweden Rx7s are thin on the ground.

    Gustaf
    That i wouldn’d know sorry. All i know is they will bolt on the same as the rx8. Rx7 parts are pretty rare anywhere really.

  5. #965
    Tyre Kicker rsdeano's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Mackay Australia
    Age
    41
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    So I've read through the thread and it seems that the rx8 box is pretty strong, but not as strong as a t5 or an rx7 box.
    Does anyone have experience with matching it to the Duratec 2.0ltr?
    I had someone tell me today that the RX8 box isn't known for its nice shifting.
    How have others experienced thiers?
    Thanks

  6. #966
    Spanner Monkey Ianbavs's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Essex
    Age
    48
    Posts
    306
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    rx8 gearbox?

    Rx8 Shifts better than a t5 and even better with a quick shift


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #967
    Tyre Kicker rsdeano's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Mackay Australia
    Age
    41
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Sounds good Ian...

    how do they go fitting in to the tunnels in mk1ís?

    are they heavy compared to a type 9?

  8. #968
    Spanner Monkey Ianbavs's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Essex
    Age
    48
    Posts
    306
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    rx8 gearbox?

    Fitted mine in a mk2 with just bellhousing tunnel mods :-)
    They are heavy 5kg more than a t5 so 42kg
    I paid more for the quick shifter than the gearbox and carbon prop but seems to b holding up well
    Cable clutch on mine is fine too if little bit heavy :-)



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #969
    Pole Position freddy686868's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    South Wales
    Age
    29
    Posts
    4,823
    Thanks
    221
    Thanked 246 Times in 228 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Quote Originally Posted by rsdeano View Post
    So I've read through the thread and it seems that the rx8 box is pretty strong, but not as strong as a t5 or an rx7 box.
    Does anyone have experience with matching it to the Duratec 2.0ltr?
    I had someone tell me today that the RX8 box isn't known for its nice shifting.
    How have others experienced thiers?
    Thanks
    They shift stunning even standard. Not as stong as the t5 that is for sure but they take revs much better. They are a great box for the price. I still haven’t mated one to a duratec i am struggling to get hold of a bottom end with a crank/starter and flywheel to sort out an adaptor plate.

  10. #970
    Tyre Kicker rsdeano's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Mackay Australia
    Age
    41
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    rx8 gearbox?

    Awesome
    That sounds good Freddy

    There are a lot of points heading me towards deciding on the rx8 box

    Iím still stuck on deciding my path for my 71 mk1 1300xl 3 speed auto shell

    Three main options
    Cozzie
    Duratec
    Zetec

    Cozzie standard (semi) with t5
    Duratec standard (semi) with a lot of extra costs for fitting and to make it fit
    Rx8 or rx7 box
    Zetec lumpy with 180 ish bhp
    Type 9 or rx8
    All with hilux rn25 diff and large single piece tailshaft modified


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  11. #971
    Spanner Monkey ugg10's Avatar

    My 1st Project
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    397
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    A type 9 box that will hold 180hp and have a decent 1st gear will be ove £1k.

    Rx8 box (6 speed) is an Aisin az6 which is also in
    Rx8 - 230hp, 9k rpm, not much torque
    IS200 - 200hp more torque
    S15 200sx - 250hp turbo, lots or torque
    Gt86/brz - 170hp
    Mx5 mk3 - 170hp (and a Duratec engine but iirc box/engine are at a slight angle to each other)

    The reason for using the rx8 box is that it has the same input spline as Ford so can use stock clutches on the Zetec etc.

    So, I think the general consensus is that it is probably good for 250hp, 250ftlb, and 9k rpm. This will be more than most Zetec or Duratec can put out. Ratios form 2-6 are the same as the straight cut Quaife type 9 clubman but the rx8 is helical (quieter) handles marginally more power and is 1/10 the price.
    1968 Ford Anglia 1.7 Puma engine/Escort front/5 Link rear/RX8 box
    http://www.Anglia1968.weebly.com

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to ugg10 For This Useful Post:


  13. #972
    Tyre Kicker rsdeano's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Mackay Australia
    Age
    41
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Thanks Ugg10

    i didnít know that the rx8 box is the same as the mx5 series 3.
    Is that the nc mx5?
    Sounds like a nice cheap box to fit.
    Are most people having to open the top of their tunnels and keep the box raised to make the box fit and line up the output shaft and the centre of the diff?
    thabks for your input
    I had been told to go for the t5 box with a close ratio set and quick shift
    but one of these boxes may well be at least as good and easier to get parts

  14. #973
    Spanner Monkey ugg10's Avatar

    My 1st Project
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    397
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Afaik and happy to be corrected, the mk3 nc mx5 2.0l is a Duratec engine the same as the ford minded/focus and has the aisin az6 box on the back of it but the engine and box are at an angle to each other which may make fitting interesting. As for parts, in the U.K. you can pick up an rx8 6 speed box for £100-200 so not even worth opening up to fix, just buy another and replace, whereas with a £1k-2k type 9 then it is a different matter.
    1968 Ford Anglia 1.7 Puma engine/Escort front/5 Link rear/RX8 box
    http://www.Anglia1968.weebly.com

  15. #974
    Racer Decade Plus User wildo105e's Avatar

    My 1st Project
    My 2nd Project
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Age
    48
    Posts
    2,626
    Thanks
    84
    Thanked 152 Times in 150 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Quote Originally Posted by ugg10 View Post
    Afaik and happy to be corrected, the mk3 nc mx5 2.0l is a Duratec engine the same as the ford minded/focus and has the aisin az6 box on the back of it but the engine and box are at an angle to each other which may make fitting interesting.
    The mk3 mazda nc box does fit to the duratec and is at a 10deg angle as in the mx5 the engine is tilted. So in a ford you get an angled gearbox. Adjusting the lever I believe gets over this. This gearbox is distinctly different to the RX8 gear box from appearances etc. Placement of starter motor, slave cylinder. There is also a rarer 6 speed mx5 gearbox which is a lot bigger. I suspect this is why no one uses the rx8 box on a duratec as the starter that bolts to the engine on a duratec sits right in the slave cylinder of the RX8 box.

    I have both gearboxes so this is what I have seen so far.

  16. #975
    Tyre Kicker rsdeano's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Mackay Australia
    Age
    41
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    rx8 gearbox?

    Wildo105

    So just to make 110% certain
    The rx8 box is not the same box as the mx5 6 speed?
    The mx5 6 speed is what Gordon Murray fitted to his duratec
    Iím just trying to work out what box they fitted to that car
    It would be great to hear that they are all the same box
    Itís not that they just have different bellhousings or something?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  17. #976
    Racer Decade Plus User wildo105e's Avatar

    My 1st Project
    My 2nd Project
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Age
    48
    Posts
    2,626
    Thanks
    84
    Thanked 152 Times in 150 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Hi this is my take. They all have integral bellhousings so no swapping bellhousing etc. internally the MX5 6 speed may be the same as the RX8 but i do not know, but the bellhousing will be different. In the UK the 6 speed mx5 box is quite rare and a lot more expensive.

    The easiest way to fit a 6 speed to the duratec is the MX5 mk3 6 speed. They may be more available in AUS. This is only what i have found and worked out so far.

    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Mazda-MX5...CRMx:rk:7:pf:0

    just for viewing
    Last edited by wildo105e; 18-12-2018 at 22:58.

  18. #977
    Racer

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Camberley, Surrey
    Posts
    2,010
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 179 Times in 179 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Big, fat suckers ain't they!

+ Reply to Thread

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts