User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 25 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 160 of 979

Thread: rx8 gearbox?

  1. #121

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Quote Originally Posted by d8vyr View Post
    (and I'd need the the block really as it's better to try fit it and you can see any issues , and bolt all up but may be able to do it of the sandwich plate pattern) ...

    hi phil, I misread that at first and thought you were asking for the zetec block lol but after reading it again, I think you meant the st block


    Yes mate the St my paypal is p9cyo@hotmail.co.uk .. Phil 07815007836


    can I have your papal details and I`ll pay asap, keen to get this now and see it all together
    cheers davy
    P9cyo@hotmail.co.uk

  2. #122

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Quote Originally Posted by ugg10 View Post
    The zetec se is totally different to the standard ford type 9 bolt pattern, more like the duratec (it is a yamaha designed engine), still thinking about this as I have already splashed out 200 notes on a type 9 bellhousing, will have to weigh up the economics of this method or cutting off the rx8 bellhousing and welding on a plate to join to the type 9 bell housing, just thinking out loud.

    I know what you mean mate but cutting and welding is even harder really .. Lol
    Type9 are really weak box and depending on what bhp you want to be putting through it ...
    Rx8 is totally a better box in lots of way , but I can do one more than likely for your engine Iam sure if you choose to go down that road ...p9cyo

  3. #123
    Spanner Monkey ugg10's Avatar

    My 1st Project
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    398
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Quote Originally Posted by P9cyo View Post
    I know what you mean mate but cutting and welding is even harder really .. Lol
    Type9 are really weak box and depending on what bhp you want to be putting through it ...
    Rx8 is totally a better box in lots of way , but I can do one more than likely for your engine Iam sure if you choose to go down that road ...p9cyo
    Thanks again for the info, hoping the engine will put out about 150hp (bike tbs, 4-1 exhaust, 2" system, no cat, omex ecu) but could push that to 175hp with a cam. Anglia is pretty light compared to a Sierra though and torque is not big. The alternative is a grand for a long 1st HD bgh box. May just buy a rx8 box and stick it in the garage for later as I guess prices may rise as they become more popular. If I go down that route I have the puma box so could use that as a template along with the type 9 bell housing. More think required.
    1968 Ford Anglia 1.7 Puma engine/Escort front/5 Link rear/RX8 box
    http://www.Anglia1968.weebly.com

  4. #124

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    If only putting that bhp out you may be ok with type 9 box but even just in a sierra they use to do the lay shaft bearing in standard car ,

    The rx8 has slightly better gearing so could be better off the mark and being 6 speed will cruise better on way to shows etc motorway . And they just feel so much nicer and tighter box , and yeah I'm sure they will go up . I've already stock up on them for all my projects well at 50 who wouldn't . That basically a quater of what people want for type 9 .. I have type 9 here that wants a good overall rebuild ??? If any wants one lol but who would p9cyo

  5. #125
    Pit Crew Decade Plus User

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    airdrie
    Age
    53
    Posts
    1,596
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 24 Times in 24 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    hi phil, payment sent
    cheers davy

  6. #126

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Quote Originally Posted by d8vyr View Post
    hi phil, payment sent
    cheers davy
    No worries mate will get sorted and out to you , p9cyo

  7. #127
    World Champion caprimentle's Avatar

    My 1st Project
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    essex
    Posts
    7,020
    Thanks
    355
    Thanked 247 Times in 237 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    how much torque can these boxes actually take? have you tried it up against a yb? the flywheel is bigger than a pinto flywheel so do you know if it will still fit in the bellhousing o.k?
    its not dead till it's buried!


    T.I.T engineering. "Feel the power!"

  8. #128

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Quote Originally Posted by caprimentle View Post
    how much torque can these boxes actually take? have you tried it up against a yb? the flywheel is bigger than a pinto flywheel so do you know if it will still fit in the bellhousing o.k?

    Well im sure it will fit as they fit on the v6 cosworth fine as most of mine are v6 ,

    and for for bhp well I know that a few rx8 running at 500-600 bhp and there on the standard gearbox from memory , but 100% better and cheaper gearbox than a type 9 , unless your throwing 1200 plus at a straight cut gear set for type 9 , but even that doesn't way up against the rx8 in my opinion . P9cyo

  9. #129

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Have you the size of yb flywheel so I can have a messure up and see , .. The block holes be the same any way as it's still a pinto block type 9 type ???

  10. #130
    World Champion caprimentle's Avatar

    My 1st Project
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    essex
    Posts
    7,020
    Thanks
    355
    Thanked 247 Times in 237 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    yeah blocks are the same so your pinto plate will fit. just wondering if the flywheel will fit. will get a measure up of the flywheel tomorrow . plus I dont know a great deal about the rotary wanker engines but torque wise they are pretty limp arnt they? after all its torque that breaks things, not power. i'm gonna be around 300ftlb on slicks at times so worried if the box designed for a torqueless na engine will handle it lol.
    its not dead till it's buried!


    T.I.T engineering. "Feel the power!"

  11. #131

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Quote Originally Posted by caprimentle View Post
    yeah blocks are the same so your pinto plate will fit. just wondering if the flywheel will fit. will get a measure up of the flywheel tomorrow . plus I dont know a great deal about the rotary wanker engines but torque wise they are pretty limp arnt they? after all its torque that breaks things, not power. i'm gonna be around 300ftlb on slicks at times so worried if the box designed for a torqueless na engine will handle it lol.
    I know what your saying but jap stuff is built to last unlike type9 you blow brains out of the type9 before the rx8 and I'm confident to put money on it , and with type9s fetching around 200 a pop and I'd say there not even a good door stop ,
    Rx8 at 50ish is a very well made box great gears think there even close cut quick shift as standard and hydrolic clutch to match that in type9 would be mega money .. You only got to run through the gears of type9 and rx8 on the floor and you will instantly get the fell which is the better box and not to say the 6 speed is a bonus for cruise down motorway in your ride which will help with noise and mpg money wise to do the swop is the cheapest upgrade going to do all that without having to change clutch starter or prop ...
    And not to say I've got lots of plates going out and I'm sure I can do these to suit any engine even if your cossie flywheel on the big size pinto would fit and take a couple of lbs off too .. And there's also a couple of firms now making bilit made flywheel at a very suitable prices for fast road clutch or 7 1/4 race clutches ..
    But if you get the size to me i can have a look at it p9cyo

  12. #132
    Spanner Monkey

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    sussex
    Posts
    461
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 24 Times in 24 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Quote Originally Posted by caprimentle View Post
    yeah blocks are the same so your pinto plate will fit. just wondering if the flywheel will fit. will get a measure up of the flywheel tomorrow . plus I dont know a great deal about the rotary wanker engines but torque wise they are pretty limp arnt they? after all its torque that breaks things, not power. i'm gonna be around 300ftlb on slicks at times so worried if the box designed for a torqueless na engine will handle it lol.


    iff you fit one then we will find out

    ive just recived my adapter plate and im fitting one to my zetec which has eaten 2 type 9s
    and only has around 180- 200hp
    as for somthing with 300ft of torque then only trying it out will tell but at 150 quid fitted or the best part of 1500 quid for a proper box i think i would give it a go

  13. #133
    World Champion caprimentle's Avatar

    My 1st Project
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    essex
    Posts
    7,020
    Thanks
    355
    Thanked 247 Times in 237 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    well i'm torn between this rx8 box or trying to get an mt75 to work with it as I already have two of them but the flywheels well tight in the mt75.
    its not dead till it's buried!


    T.I.T engineering. "Feel the power!"

  14. #134
    Pole Position freddy686868's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    South Wales
    Age
    30
    Posts
    4,827
    Thanks
    221
    Thanked 246 Times in 228 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Quote Originally Posted by caprimentle View Post
    well i'm torn between this rx8 box or trying to get an mt75 to work with it as I already have two of them but the flywheels well tight in the mt75.
    Rx8 lumps the way. They turbo them things and they still take the hammering.

  15. #135
    Racer Decade Plus User robrs2's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Teesside
    Posts
    3,025
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 48 Times in 46 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Has anyone photos of the RX8 box fitted in to an escort?
    Where is the gear lever position, same as escort?
    Also gearbox mount position, how different. I've just built my to fit the MT75, don't want to drill more holes now the floor is painted
    Last edited by robrs2; 13-02-2015 at 19:15.

  16. #136

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Quote Originally Posted by robrs2 View Post
    Has anyone photos of the RX8 box fitted in to an escort?
    Where is the gear lever position, same as escort?
    Also gearbox mount position, how different. I've just built my to fit the MT75, don't want to drill more holes now the floor is painted
    Not in car but have had one sat in , they are 2" longer than type9 and stick more or less in same place , it would the gearbox crossmember that you have to refab .. I have not made as part of kit as everyone's would be different but may start making them soon if lots of orders ,

    will put some pics up in an hour of type9 and rx8 side by side for all to see there's not much in it but the the rear mount for rx8 is further back .. P9cyo

  17. #137
    Spanner Monkey ugg10's Avatar

    My 1st Project
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    398
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Quote Originally Posted by caprimentle View Post
    yeah blocks are the same so your pinto plate will fit. just wondering if the flywheel will fit. will get a measure up of the flywheel tomorrow . plus I dont know a great deal about the rotary wanker engines but torque wise they are pretty limp arnt they? after all its torque that breaks things, not power. i'm gonna be around 300ftlb on slicks at times so worried if the box designed for a torqueless na engine will handle it lol.
    Same gearbox is in the s15 nissan 200sx which has a turbo 2.0l lump. Others that use this gearbox (same internals, different bellhousing end and input shaft) are the duratec mk3 mx5 and the lexus is200 2.0l straight 6. I think the s15 would give it the best workout (250 hp and 205 ftlbs).
    Last edited by ugg10; 13-02-2015 at 20:00.
    1968 Ford Anglia 1.7 Puma engine/Escort front/5 Link rear/RX8 box
    http://www.Anglia1968.weebly.com

  18. The Following User Says Thank You to ugg10 For This Useful Post:


  19. #138
    Racer Decade Plus User robrs2's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Teesside
    Posts
    3,025
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 48 Times in 46 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Is the propshaft the same length?

  20. #139

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Lexus IS totally different as starter is wrong side. .. And mazda is different . Like I say I've spent lots of time going through all of these for the conversion .. Also the main thing with this gearbox was the dollars as this is out there from 50 it's always going to be better as mx5 box there asking 350 ish from breakers it's the rx8 that's what my conversion plates are for not only for the ford boys but allows the rx8 boys to put a better engine in them cars . I myself have a 24v cosworth in my rx8 so now it's a real toy for the drift / road car ..

  21. #140
    Spanner Monkey ugg10's Avatar

    My 1st Project
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    398
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    All are versions of the aisin az6 gearbox, but as p9cyo said, the rx8 is the one to use as it is the only one with the same input shaft (splines and spigot bearing) as the ford type 9.

    http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_...ar-wheel_drive
    1968 Ford Anglia 1.7 Puma engine/Escort front/5 Link rear/RX8 box
    http://www.Anglia1968.weebly.com

  22. #141

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Prop shaft depending on what it's in and how much you have in the gearbox as there is 2" extra in length to the type9 , some may get away with there prop as is and for them that won't you can use the carbon rx8 one by re drilling your diff flange and there mega lighter and stronger too , for those that want to stay with there prop it's so easy to take a inch or two out , my kit comes with full instructions how to do this and it will still be balanced if you can use an hacksaw and mig it's that easy .. P9cyo

  23. #142
    Racer Decade Plus User robrs2's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Teesside
    Posts
    3,025
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 48 Times in 46 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Anyone have the RX8 prop length?

  24. #143

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Rx8 1280mm and type9 mk2 escort prop 1300mm
    Have pic of both side by side up in a bit p9cyo

  25. #144
    Racer Decade Plus User robrs2's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Teesside
    Posts
    3,025
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 48 Times in 46 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    It fits then

  26. #145

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    pics of boxes and props for all ..Click image for larger version Name:	IMG_0131.JPG Views:	475 Size:	132.1 KB ID:	73611Click image for larger version Name:	IMG_0134.JPG Views:	473 Size:	67.2 KB ID:	73612Click image for larger version Name:	IMG_0136.JPG Views:	477 Size:	86.3 KB ID:	73613Click image for larger version Name:	IMG_0138.JPG Views:	480 Size:	90.7 KB ID:	73614

  27. #146

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Forgot to mention that the rx8 is like the old ZF box they used in rally cars . Where it has higher gear change stick . But you can buy these gear change turret on eBay etc .. Which I think looks great in a mk1 or mk2 escort .. Retro . Like I say I'm using these in all my toys mk1 mexico ,ford pop, jensen intercepter , robin hood , rs focus , and escort cossie rwd project , this is why I needed to find a better and cheaper performing gearbox , and I have got conversion plates for ford v6 , zetec , pinto , and vauxhall redtop , but can say I can do anything you really want it for , this is a must for all , be road track drift or kitcar .. Cheapest thing out there , ?. And I worked all this out myself and the only one with these on the market and having it patiented so be the first to get your order in .. P9cyo

  28. #147
    Pit Crew Decade Plus User

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    airdrie
    Age
    53
    Posts
    1,596
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 24 Times in 24 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    hi phil, did you get a chance to post the adapter out and have you any idea what model or years of rx came with the carbon prop
    cheers davy

  29. #148

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    hi mate will try get it out in morning ...
    and as far as i know they all had carbon prop . . but defo the 6spd as thats all i have bought so thats the 231bhp , the 192bhp is 5 speed and ive not done anything with them ,, but im sure theyd be the same and stronger than type9 but im sure we would all be going for the 6spd ,,

    type9 prop be fine but the carbon may be better as weight and stronger and they go for nothing little as 10 in the pics you can see theres nothing in it really most will get away with there own prop .. im going to run a mix of both as i have them here ... p9cyo

  30. #149
    Tyre Kicker

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    mansfield
    Age
    34
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    I'd be interested in a conversion kit but I'm using a 1500 pre x flow which I know shouldn't be an issue bolt hole wise but I have no idea about what clutch set up would work, could I use the Lucas Inertia starter it will work with the existing flywheel but it is a lot longer than a pre engaged. does the box have a speedo sensor

  31. #150

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Quote Originally Posted by GT_Jim View Post
    I'd be interested in a conversion kit but I'm using a 1500 pre x flow which I know shouldn't be an issue bolt hole wise but I have no idea about what clutch set up would work, could I use the Lucas Inertia starter it will work with the existing flywheel but it is a lot longer than a pre engaged. does the box have a speedo sensor
    Hi mate yes you can as you can change to pre engaged , so bolt holes are not and issue and there's a big cut out for the rx8 starter as is a back loader . And this is redundant and I've removed it off mine but there's a big opening . So you may need to do the same with a touch more , but starter bolts to the conversion plate so safe and secure there .. And the rx8 is electronic speedo .. There's I guy in the thread that has done a precrossflow .. But he did his own and had few probs as he used a 30mm plate making more off a clutch issue and he used a 5spd box .. As for your clutch a would say your own cross flow one but you would have to change your centre plate to 1" 23 spline centre or 2.0 clutch plate .. As yours will be 3/4 " 20 sPline off the top of my head , are you running a type9 now ? As your clutch and prop may be same unless it's 1.6 type9 .. Then it's different .. P9cyo

  32. #151
    Spam Man

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Telford
    Age
    43
    Posts
    197
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    I can point people in the right direction for rx8 props and gearboxes

  33. #152
    Racer Decade Plus User robrs2's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Teesside
    Posts
    3,025
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 48 Times in 46 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    I may go ahead with this. So far found a box and prop local for 100

  34. #153

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Quote Originally Posted by robrs2 View Post
    I may go ahead with this. So far found a box and prop local for 100
    Lol cheap as chips ,, you won't get a crap type9 and prop for that ??? P9cyo

  35. #154
    Racer Decade Plus User robrs2's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Teesside
    Posts
    3,025
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 48 Times in 46 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Using the rx8 prop to english axle. Can the english flange be drilled? Anything else needs doing?
    I have room to move the engine forward a little to make up for the extra box length. Or will the prop go in as it is?

  36. #155

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Yes mate it can but you turn the prop 45 to opposite the holes and it's right on edge but needs to be precisely mark and drilled nut and bolted , but if done right it's great , and there's such a big difference in weight and strength ..

    If you have a good machine shop near you may be able to get a new flange done , I'm looking into in at min so will up date , p9cyo

  37. #156
    Racer

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Camberley, Surrey
    Posts
    2,230
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 196 Times in 196 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    I would have thought a 1/2" steel conversion plate would be a practical solution, counter sunk screws to fix to diff flange and normal bolts threaded into conversion plate? Cheap and accurate if done in an engineering shop.

  38. #157
    Pole Position freddy686868's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    South Wales
    Age
    30
    Posts
    4,827
    Thanks
    221
    Thanked 246 Times in 228 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Quote Originally Posted by katana View Post
    I would have thought a 1/2" steel conversion plate would be a practical solution, counter sunk screws to fix to diff flange and normal bolts threaded into conversion plate? Cheap and accurate if done in an engineering shop.
    or just change the uj to an english/atlas axle flange?

  39. #158
    Racer

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Camberley, Surrey
    Posts
    2,230
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 196 Times in 196 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Quote Originally Posted by freddy686868 View Post
    or just change the uj to an english/atlas axle flange?
    Not seeing how that helps! Axle has a Ford flange to mate with a Ford yoke flange and Prop has a Mazda yoke flange so i'm guessing they are not a direct match with the spider fitting both!

  40. #159

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Yes but this is why I say re drill and everything is as is ,, but type9 prop fits and my kit contains new real oil seal for mazda box to use type9 prop ,,

    Only if you want to use mazda prop will you need to re drill flange .. P9cyo

  41. #160
    Pole Position freddy686868's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    South Wales
    Age
    30
    Posts
    4,827
    Thanks
    221
    Thanked 246 Times in 228 Posts

    Re: rx8 gearbox?

    Quote Originally Posted by katana View Post
    Not seeing how that helps! Axle has a Ford flange to mate with a Ford yoke flange and Prop has a Mazda yoke flange so i'm guessing they are not a direct match with the spider fitting both!
    I haven't looked into it yet but I'm sure a prop company could sort something out for peanuts. It isn't rocket science after all only a uj. The only way to find out is have both props side by side and measure it up. I will let you know how I get on.

+ Reply to Thread

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts