User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Probably another daft question.

Bodger

Thanks

Probably another daft question.

Im in the stage of converting my Weber carbed Cosworth N/A to throttle bodies.
    Im going to use an Omex 600 ECU.
    The question is when all the wiring and plumbing is done can I stick with the dissy set up for intial start-up.
    The reason is Im new at the EFi stuff and thought if I run fuel only via the ECU first if it doesnt run I will know its not an Ignition issue, therefore easier to fault find.
    Then when and if it runs I can connect the ignition side of things via the ECU.
    So...is this possible, is it a daft idea?

TURBOSPORT SPONSOR Turbosport Subscriber
    Turbosport Moderator
    Turbosport Administrator
    My Race Car
    My 1st Project
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,479 Times in 2,253 Posts

Re: Probably another daft question.

you could, but if you dont get the crank trigger correct it wont run anyway so i see no point in trying to run it half and half

Racer Decade Plus User

Thanks

How many times do you read of engines with distributors not running / running badly, so its no guarantee. All the stuff required will be used for the fuel so ignition (as long as the wiring checks out) will work - worse case, just set the whole ign. map to 10 deg btdc as most engines will run & idle at that. My Ignition side was so reliable I was considering going the other way and fitting carbs to get the car driving as fuel mapping was problematical for me!

Bodger

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by katana View Post