User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: v6 or v8 mk3 cortina

Tyre Kicker

Thanks

v6 or v8 mk3 cortina

hi all, total newbie to the ford world, after a few years of doing up old classics I finally got the chance to buy my boyhood dream car . mk3 2dr Cortina , I've always wanted one and drop a v8 in it, but my ford mate keeps pushing me towards the v6 . to be honest my hearts set on a v8 but my head and wallet are putting a few doubts in the mix. just need to know which is the easiest and cost effective route? and does it require a lot of mods? cheers...........

Tyre Kicker

Thanks

Re: v6 or v8 mk3 cortina

Hiya dude.

My boyhood dream was also a mk3 2-door. Something we never had here, So I've settled on a moar door.
    I toyed with both the 6 and the 8 before eventually biting the bullet on a zetec conversion purely for insurance/running costs.

Anything is possible if you have the time and the inclination and money. Just depends on how much work you can do yourself.
    The mk3 has the same floor plan is mk4s and 5s. So Anything that will drop in to the later cortinas will drop in.

The v6 cologne with t9 box is a straight bolt in swap. You will need the t9 with the longer input shaft, and cologne Bellhousing. And the 2.3 v6 gives you very little gain over the 2L in the real world. And the Siamese exhaust ports mean the usual flow work isn't really an option for more horsepower.

the 2.8 v6 can be used for a little more go. I've had the 2.8 running a rejetted 2.3 carb and manifold in a mk5. Sounds nice, smooth, goes pretty hard (Vs a 2L). Can be done in a weekend if you know what your doing.

Also the 4L quad cam v6 is part of the cologne family, and can be shoehorned in, I've not attempted such a conversion. But I would assume it's a rather tight fit, and prolly requires some serious messing with the pipe bender to get the headers between the rails.